Saturday, May 7, 2011

85th Oscar Documentary Feature—A Full Slate Of FIRST ENTRIES! (5/7/11)

Although there will undoubtedly be additions to this over time, I was able to identify a full slate of 50 potential entries for the 85th Oscar Documentary Feature race.

1. Laurent Cantet, Benicio Del Toro, Julio Medem, Gaspar Noe, Ella Suleiman, Juan Carlos Tabio and Pablo Trapero for 7 Days In Havana (Predicted Winner)
2. Ryan Hartsell, Justin D. Hillard and Arianne Martin for 3 Thumbs Up
3. Alvaro Longoria for Sons Of The Clouds (Oulad Lemzun)
4. Werner Herzog for Death Row
5. Barbara Holguin for We Of The Saya (Nosotros Los De La Saya)

6. Marc Silver for Who Is Dayani Cristal
7. Oliver Stone for The Untold History Of The United States
8. Daniel Dorobantu for Tau
9. Alexis Hanawalt for Country Mice And City Mice
10. Kristi Jacobson and Lori Silverbush for Hungry In America
11. Mimi Edmunds for Angkor’s Children
12. Carlos Hernandez for De Puro Aire
13. Eugene Martin for The Anderson Monarchs
14. Rosemary Rawcliffe for Women Of Tibet: The Buddha’s Wife
15. Avi Bohbot for The War After
16. Campbell Cooley for Batons and Baguettes
17. Junko Kajino and Ed Koziarski for Uncanny Terrain
18. Matthew Miele for Scatter My Ashes At Bergdorg Goodman
19. Joshua Tickell for Sex & Algae
20. Inia Taylor, DLT and George Nuku for Destination Unknown
21. Olaf Saumer for Sensucht Nach Der Unbekannten Helmat
22. Joanes Prosper and Adrian Washington for Finding The Prospers
23. Christopher Towey and Leah Warshawski for Film Festival: Rwanda
24. John Banovich for Behind Barbwire
25. Femke Wolting, Bruno Felix and Tommy Pallotta for Possession Of The Sea
26. Mohamed El Aboudi for Dance Of Outlaws
27. Roger Ross Williams for God Loves Uganda
28. Terry Benedict for The Death Of Reasonable Doubt
29. Avi Bohbot for Notes Of Exile
30. Ben Rivers and Ben Russell for A Spell To Ward Off The Darkness
31. Cassio Tolpolar for Mamaliga Blues
32. Greg Reitman for Rooted In Peace
33. Jeff Oppenheim for Chasing Elmyr
34. Vertical Farm
35. Mike Barber for A Past Denied: The Invisible History Of Slavery In Canada
36. Joao Pedro Rodrigues and Joao Rui Guerra Da Mata for A Ultima Vez Qe Vi Macau
37. Nina Gilberti for When Jane and Johnny Come Marching Homeless
38. Heather Lenz for Kusama: Princess Of Polka Dots
39. Alastair Fothergill and Mark Linfield for Chimpanzee
40. Gabriel Horn for Crispo’s Christ
41. Louise Psihoyos for The Singing Planet
42. Roger Lay Jr. for Toy Masters
43. Malcolm Wright for Whale Like Me
44. Tom Putnam for Burn
45. Michael LaPointe for Discretion And Faith
46. Julian Jones for Meet The Winthals
47. Lucas McNelly for A Year Without Rent
48. Tamarat Makonnen for In Search Of The Black Knight
49. Andrew James for Street Fighting Man
50. Africa 3D

As always, check the Tracker Pages in the upper right hand corner of this blog for the most updated predictions in all categories!
See Documentary feature predictions for other years HERE.
If you’re really into documentaries, check out the Documentary Shorts also.
See predictions for other categories at the 85th Oscars HERE.
Switch to another year: 84th,  85th,  86th,  87th,  88th,  89th