Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Which Of Sunday's Oscar Presenters Are Members Of The Academy -- And Which Are NOT!

This Sunday, the Oscars are going to bring out a wide range of diverse presenters and performers to help compensate for the all-white lineup of their acting nominees.

Since The Academy Members Project is the largest public list of Oscar Voters -- and of NON-Voters -- that you’ll find on the web, we thought we’d take a look at the roster to find out which of these presenters are members of Academy and which are not.

(Note that we’ve also done a similar analysis for this year’s nominees).

What we found is that over a third of the announced presenters and performers are NOT Academy members yet. Which begs the question: If the Academy is supposed to represent the best artists in the industry, why do they have to go outside their ranks so often for the telecast?

  • Chris Rock (HOST) - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • J.J. Abrams - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Patricia Arquette - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Abraham Attah - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Sacha Baron Cohen - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Cate Blanchett - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Emily Blunt - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Louis C.K. - UNCERTAIN (source).
  • Steve Carell - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Henry Cavill - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Priyanka Chopra - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Common - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Russell Crowe - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Benicio del Toro - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Chris Evans - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Tina Fey - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Morgan Freeman - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Lady Gaga - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Jennifer Garner - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Whoopi Goldberg - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Ryan Gosling - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Louis Gossett, Jr. - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Dave Grohl - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Kevin Hart - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Quincy Jones - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Michael B. Jordan - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Byung-hun Lee - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • John Legend - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Jared Leto - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Rachel McAdams - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Julianne Moore - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Olivia Munn - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Dev Patel - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Eddie Redmayne - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Daisy Ridley - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Margot Robbie - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Jason Segel - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Andy Serkis - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Sarah Silverman - UNCERTAIN (source).
  • J.K. Simmons - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Sam Smith - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Charlize Theron - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Jacob Tremblay - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Sofia Vergara - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Kerry Washington - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • The Weeknd - NOT A MEMBER (source).
  • Pharrell Williams - VOTING MEMBER! (source).
  • Reese Witherspoon - VOTING MEMBER! (source).

For more information about who is -- and is not -- a member of the academy, check out The Academy Members Project: The largest public list of Oscar Voters you’ll find on the web.


No comments:

Post a Comment