Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Academy Once Again Invites Non-Member To Help Announce Nominees

For the fourth year in a row, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will cede one of their most anticipated moments of the year to someone who has not been invited to join their club.

The Academy announced that members Guillermo del Toro and Ang Lee will present the nominees for Animated Feature Film, Cinematography, Costume Design, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Song, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing and Sound Mixing on Thursday, January 14 at 5:30 a.m. PT.

Beginning at 5:38, Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs will share the stage with actor John Krasinski -- who is not an Oscar voter -- to reveal the nominees for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Directing, Film Editing, Foreign Language Film, Original Score, Best Picture, Production Design, Visual Effects, Adapted Screenplay and Original Screenplay.

Krasinski is best known for his role in TV’s The Office, and just happens to have a movie coming out that week: Michael Bay’s 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi. Krasinski’s wife, Emily Blunt, was invited to join the Academy in 2009.

This is the fourth consecutive year that a non-member of the Academy has been given this honor. In January 2015 it was Chris Pine who helped announce the nominees. In 2014 it was Chris Hemsworth, and in 2013 it was Emma Stone.

Pine and Stone were finally invited to join the Academy this past June, but Hemsworth and Krasinski have not yet had the pleasure.

To learn more about who is -- and is not -- an Oscar voter, check out The Academy Members Project, the largest public list of Oscar voters you’ll find on the web.

No comments:

Post a Comment